Examine various aspects of the academic credential

Situate the academic credential in context by learning about the admission requirements, level, workload, overall quality, profile, and learning outcomes.

For internal procedures:
  • Examine various aspects of the academic credential, such as:
    • admission requirements, in terms of meeting the acceptable threshold (e.g., Completion of the High School Graduation Diploma);
    • level, within the developmental continuum (e.g., qualifications framework);
    • workload, as a quantitative measure of learning activities (e.g., hours, years, credits);
    • overall quality, as measured through:
    • profile describing the academic program's:
      • content (e.g., multi-, inter-, or mono-disciplinary);
      • purpose (e.g., further studies, direct labour-market entry, granting access to a regulated occupation).
    • learning outcomes, highlighting what the credential holder is expected to:
      • know;
      • understand; and
      • demonstrate.

Detailed information may be readily accessible on the Web site of the issuing educational institution.

Some features may also be outlined in the Diploma Supplement, facilitating the assessment process. However, not all jurisdictions have adopted this recognition tool, and it does not always accompany documents.

Comply with the Pan-Canadian Quality Assurance Framework for the Assessment of International Academic Credentials (QAF)

This step complies with guiding principles 9, 15, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, and 40 of QAF.

Consult QAF to get more information.

Consult additional resources

You may find useful information in other resources, such as:
  1. EAR Consortium (EP-Nuffic, UK NARIC, ENIC-NARIC France, and ENIC-NARIC Poland). (2012). European Area of Recognition (EAR) Manual, chapters 8 and 9;
  2. EAR-HEI Consortium (EP-Nuffic, ENIC-NARIC France, ENIC-NARIC Latvia, ENIC-NARIC Ireland, European University Association (EUA), ENIC-NARIC Lithuania, ENIC-NARIC Denmark, ENIC-NARIC Poland and Tuning Educational Structures in Europe). (2016). European Recognition Manual for Higher Education Institutions (EAR-HEI), part I, item 2; part II, items 7 and 8; part V, items 16 to 22;
  3. ENIC-NARIC Networks:
    1. Diploma Supplement;
    2. Grading scale systems;
    3. Qualifications Frameworks: level of qualifications; and
    4. Quality assurance: accredited programmes.