Identify the competent authority

Find out which authority is responsible for overseeing the educational institution and its program delivery, in accordance with the country's legal framework and quality-assurance procedures.

For internal procedures:
  • Identify the organization responsible for:
    • registering the educational institution and its academic programs according to domestic laws;
    • reviewing the performance of educational institutions and their academic programs to ensure that acceptable standards and quality are met;
    • ensuring consumer protection.
  • Confirm that at the time of attendance by the applicant, in accordance with the domestic laws of the issuing country, the educational institution and its programs:
    • legally operated within the issuing country's education system;
    • had the authority to issue the credential.
To locate this information, consult the Web site and/or contact the competent authorities. This is usually:
  • the government ministry/department responsible for education;
  • a quality-assurance/accrediting agency;
  • the licensing and professional authorities for regulated occupations;
  • a national information centre.

Use CICIC's Directory of Offshore Schools and International Education Resources as a starting point to locate the names of competent authorities for specific countries.

Comply with the Pan-Canadian Quality Assurance Framework for the Assessment of International Academic Credentials (QAF)

This step complies with guiding principles 15, 28, 29, and 30 of QAF.

Consult QAF to get more information.

Consult additional resources

You may find useful information in other resources, such as:
  1. EAR Consortium (EP-Nuffic, UK NARIC, ENIC-NARIC France, and ENIC-NARIC Poland). (2012). European Area of Recognition (EAR) Manual, chapter 3, 14, 16, and 17;
  2. EAR-HEI Consortium (EP-Nuffic, ENIC-NARIC France, ENIC-NARIC Latvia, ENIC-NARIC Ireland, European University Association (EUA), ENIC-NARIC Lithuania, ENIC-NARIC Denmark, ENIC-NARIC Poland and Tuning Educational Structures in Europe). (2016). European Recognition Manual for Higher Education Institutions (EAR-HEI), part III, items 3 and 4.
  3. ENIC-NARIC Networks. UNESCO Regions and Unrecognised HEIs.
  4. World Education Services – Canada. (2012). Best Practices: Strategies and Processes to Obtain Authentic International Educational Credentials, chapter 7;