The Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC)

The Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC), is an intergovernmental body founded in 1967 by ministers of education to serve as:
  • a forum to discuss policy issues;
  • a mechanism through which to undertake activities, projects, and initiatives in areas of mutual interest;
  • a means by which to consult and cooperate with national education organizations and the federal government; and
  • an instrument to represent the education interests of the provinces and territories internationally.

CMEC provides leadership in education at the pan-Canadian and international levels and contributes to the exercise of the exclusive jurisdiction of provinces and territories over education.

CMEC is governed by the Agreed Memorandum on a Council of Ministers of Education, Canada, approved by all members. A Chair is elected every two years on a rotating basis among the provinces. The current Chair is the Honourable Stephen Lecce, Minister of Education, Ontario. All 13 provinces and territories are members.

For more detailed information, visit CMEC's Web site.

Council of Ministers of Education, Canada

Phone : (+1) 416-962-8100


1106 - 95, St. Clair Ouest / West Toronto, Ontario M4V 1N6 Canada