The Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials

The Department of Education compiles an annual online transfer guide that provides a list of course-by-course and program/block transfers available to students who are transferring credits from one institution to another within the Newfoundland and Labrador public postsecondary system (College of the North Atlantic, Marine Institute and Memorial University).

Newfoundland and Labrador has a credit-transfer mechanism between Memorial University and College of the North Atlantic that has existed for more than 20 years. New agreements are signed between Newfoundland and Labrador public postsecondary institutions and those in other parts of Canada and around the world on a regular basis. Newfoundland and Labrador public postsecondary institutions also have credit transfer arrangements linked to the public high school system, the provincial Adult Basic Education program, the Apprenticeship and Trades Certification Division, Department of Immigration, Skills and Labour, and the Atlantic School of Business (Chartered Professional Accountants Education program), as well as program block arrangements between College of the North Atlantic and specific universities and colleges across North America.

In July 2000, colleges of the four Atlantic Provinces (Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island) signed a memorandum of understanding to "maximize the recognition and transfer of learning acquired through formal education, workplace training, and work and life experience." In accordance with this memorandum, member colleges have agreed to transfer credits for all courses to programs delivered by other members.

In 2009, Memorial University and College of the North Atlantic joined with other Atlantic colleges and universities in the signing of a memorandum of understanding through the former Atlantic Provinces Community College Consortium (APCCC) ), now known as Atlantic Colleges Atlantique (ACA), to strengthen transferability and mobility within Atlantic Canada and to ensure that students receive maximum benefits from postsecondary education in the region. The memorandum of understanding was signed by 22 institutions in Atlantic Canada.

Credit transfers between College of the North Atlantic and other Canadian community colleges and universities are considered by program and administrative staff on a case-by-case basis that includes a review of course content, student evaluation methods, and instructor qualifications.

Comprehensive review of this information: January 2021